Page of Swords – bolder lines, natural paint

My pen arrived at last. So this is a first version of the Page of Swords , with bolder lines, and my plant based paints. The black colour I have not written about earlier comes from soot, which is not an easy paint to deal with, maybe because of the high fat content. Maybe nut or nutgall  and iron would be better…. On this card I did not painted the face, hands, the inner side of the cloak, – at least , the lower part seems to be the same shade as the page’s face – and the stockings. All these parts of the card are painted  in the original a slight brownish-pink shade. I decided doing it after I have coloured all the cards with the other colours. I think I have to postpone my decision, because I am really not sure….

Page of swords - Hes - Derua Tarot
Page of swords – Hes – Derua Tarot

 

The next photo is about the two versions of the Page of Swords. My first version , I have already coloured depicts a Page of Swords, not really typical for the this card. With this face he is a rather a Page of Cups:)  Anyway , I like him. …The card on the right is my new version , much closer to the original Page of Swords in the Hes deck.

first and second version of the Page of Swords in the Hes-Derua Tarot
first and second version of the Page of Swords in the Hes-Derua Tarot

Have a nice day.

Leave a comment